Image credit:


The Rolex Mentor and Protégé Arts Initiative announced the seven artists last week at an exclusive event in Venice. The artists-named as Olafur Eliasson (visual arts), Alejandro Gonzalez Inarritu (film), Michael Onsaatje (literature), Alexei Ratmansky (dance), Kaija Saariaho (music), Jennifer Tipton (theatre) and Peter Zumthor (architecture) will be working around the world mentoring seven young artists from mid-2014 through to 2015.

The young talents have been invited to submit an application by international nominating panels of influential artists to begin the global search; three candidates will then be shortlisted by each panel and passed over to the mentor for him/her to choose their protégé. The protégés will be announced mid-2014 and the mentoring will begin shortly after.

Each lucky protégés will spend around 6 weeks or more with their mentor over a year. It will be up to the individual pair to plan and structure their meetings and schedules. Each protégé will also receive 25,000 Swiss francs to support their participation in the learning program and at the end of the mentoring year each protégé could be eligible for an additional 25,000 Swiss francs for the creation or a new work.

Copyright © 2021 Watch Centre. All rights reserved. VAT Registration No. GB912320374